Discovery 2011
Discovery 2011 Ontario Centres of Excellence: Discovery 2011 Save the Date: May 14-15, 2012 Discovery 2011
Discovery 2011 Discovery 2011
Discovery 2010
OCE: Discovery 2010

Reconnect with
Discovery 11 participants

Click for Attending Delegates
Click for Exhibitor Companies

Print this page
Discovery 2011: Agenda & Speakers

Sean Conway

Chair of the Board, Ontario Centres of Excellence
and Public Policy Adviser, Gowling Lafleur Henderson LLP


Sean Conway became Chair of the Board of Directors of the Ontario Centres of Excellence (OCE) in October 2010. He has been a member of the OCE Board since 2004 and has chaired the OCE Board of Management for the Energy Centre since 2005.

Mr. Conway is a Fellow in the Queen's University School of Policy Studies, a public policy advisor with the national law firm Gowling, Lafleur Henderson LLP and a public affairs analyst on various television and radio programs.

Mr. Conway was Acting Vice-Principal, Advancement of Queen's University from  January 1-December 31, 2009. He was also the Special Advisor for External Relations to the Principal of Queen's University from August 2006 until October 2010. Prior to becoming Special Advisor, he was the Director of Queen's Institute of Intergovernmental Relations.

Before joining Queen's, Mr. Conway was a member of the Ontario Legislative Assembly for 28 years, including five years as a Cabinet Minister in the Government of Premier David Peterson. In Cabinet, he held a number of portfolios, including Minister of Education, Colleges and Universities and Skills Development, Minister of Mines and Government House Leader. He is a former Energy Critic for the Official Opposition and served on two Ontario Select Committees on Nuclear Affairs. He also served on several legislative committees examining health care and constitutional reform.

Mr. Conway holds a graduate degree in history from Queen's University and has taught at both Queen's and Wilfrid Laurier universities. He received the Churchill Society Award for Excellence in the Cause of Parliamentary Democracy in 2007.

Discovery 2010
Discovery 2011
Follow us on:
Discovery 2011
Discovery 2011